Skip to main content

Event Details

Event Status
Event Completed
Event ID
Event Name
Public Hunter Education
Hunter Education

Event Completed 1 of 30 seats remaining



2 Tilden Trail, Cody, WY 82414


Date & Times:
Mar 27, 2023 5:15PM - 8:45PM MDT
Mar 28, 2023 5:15PM - 8:45PM MDT
Mar 29, 2023 5:15PM - 8:45PM MDT
Mar 30, 2023 5:15PM - 8:45PM MDT
Mar 31, 2023 5:15PM - 7:15PM MDT

About this Event:

Wyoming Outdoorsmen are sponsoring a Traditional Hunter Safety Course that is open to the General Public.
This class will be held at the Wyoming Game and Fish Cody Regional Office located on Tilden Drive just north of Cody. This Class will include the standard Hunter Safety Curriculum and students that attend all class sessions and receive a passing grade on the class exam will receive their “Wyoming Game and Fish Hunter Safety Certificate". This class is recommended for anyone ages 10 and older (kids under 10 years of age tend to struggle to comprehend the class materials) who need their Hunter Safety Certificate for this coming fall hunting season. The cost of the class is $10 per student and will be collected at the first class session. The class fee is waived for Members of Wyoming Outdoorsmen and their minor children. All class materials will be handed out at the first class session.


Organized by:

Bruce Salzmann

Cancellation Policies:

If you are no longer planning on attending this class, please cancel your registration so that those on the waiting list will have a chance to attend.

Event Policies:


Graduates of this course are expected to demonstrate their knowledge of the material presented in class and in homework assignments on both verbal and written examinations. The demonstration of skill in safe gun handling is an important completion requirement. The student’s attitude toward the course of instruction and the acceptance of the principles of responsible hunter behavior weigh heavily in the pass/fail decision for each student.

Wyoming Hunter Education Law requires any person born on or after January 1, 1966, to successfully complete a hunter education course. The following policies and procedures have been outlined so you will fully understand the requirements for successfully completing the course.

Attendance at all sessions is required. Due to scheduling difficulties, make-up sessions will not be allowed. If you fail to attend any portion of the course your certification will be denied. Students are expected to be in their seats and ready for class at that time.

The following areas of concern will be used in evaluating each student for certification.
 1. Class attendance
 2. Prompt attendance at class sessions
 3. Completion of homework assignments and worksheets
 4. Participation in class activities and discussions
 5. Scores on written quizzes
 6. Score on the final examination
 7. Performance on the firearms field course
 8. Behavior in class and during the field exercise
 9. Attitude

I have read the above policy and understand the requirements for successful completion of the Wyoming Hunter Education Course.

Minimum Age Policies:

There are no minimum age policies

Maximum Age Policies:

There are no maximum age policies


About the Program


This course is for individuals who want to earn their hunter education certificate in a traditional classroom setting that includes instructor-led lessons, hands-on activities and videos.

Hunter Education Courses are mostly offered in Wyoming from January - September, with most classes in March, April, August and September.  If you can't find a course in your area, check the webpage regularly and put your name on a notification list to receive a one-time email when a class becomes available in your area.
Students will engage in a series of in-person lessons that cover 
  • hunting ethics and responsibility, 
  • firearm safety
  • relevant Wyoming wildlife statutes and regulations, 
  • wildlife identification, game care and 
  • outdoor safety. 

Upon successful completion of this course students will earn their hunter education certificate which is mandatory for any individual born on or after January 1, 1966 wanting to hunt with a firearm. 

This certification option is recommended for: 
  • ages 10 and up
  • individuals new to firearms
  • hands-on learners