Skip to main content

Event Details

Event Status
Events Results Pending
Event ID
1554
Event Name
School Only Hunter Education
Program
Hunter Education

Events Results Pending 5 of 20 seats remaining

Location

Location:

863 Sweetwater Street, Lander, WY 82520

Schedule

Date & Times:
Jun 13, 2022 1:00PM - 3:00PM MDT
Jun 14, 2022 1:00PM - 3:00PM MDT
Jun 15, 2022 1:00PM - 3:00PM MDT
Jun 16, 2022 1:00PM - 3:00PM MDT
Jun 20, 2022 1:00PM - 3:00PM MDT
Jun 21, 2022 1:00PM - 3:00PM MDT
Jun 22, 2022 1:00PM - 3:00PM MDT
Jun 23, 2022 1:00PM - 3:00PM MDT
Jun 24, 2022 9:00AM - 3:00PM MDT

About this Event:

Hunter Safety Class for Lights On students ONLY, to be held over two weeks in June, 2022.
Only students signed up for summer 2022 Lights On are eligible for this class. Range day will be Friday June 24, with field trip to the LVSA Outdoor Range on Rifle Range Road. All other classes will be held at Lights On location at 863 Sweetwater Street in Lander during Lights On.

June 13: 2 hours classroom -- teaching/instruction
June 14: 2 hours classroom -- teaching/instruction
June 15: 2 hours classroom -- teaching/instruction
June 16: 2 hours classroom -- teaching/instruction
June 17: No class

June 20: 2 hours classroom -- teaching/instruction
June 21: 2 hours classroom -- teaching/instruction
June 22: 2 hours classroom -- review / test preparation
June 23: 2 hours classroom -- testing / grading
June 24: 4 - 6 hours Range Day -- outdoor live fire range day (FIELD TRIP to Rifle Range Road, outdoor firing range)

For information prior to signing up, call Jeff Wendt (349-9866), Ceatriss Wall (335-7050), or Rene Schell (332-2688).

Details

Organized by:

Jeff Wendt

Cancellation Policies:

If you are no longer planning on attending this class, please cancel your registration so that those on the waiting list will have a chance to attend.

Event Policies:

STUDENT AGREEMENT FORM


Graduates of this course are expected to demonstrate their knowledge of the material presented in class and in homework assignments on both verbal and written examinations. The demonstration of skill in safe gun handling is an important completion requirement. The student’s attitude toward the course of instruction and the acceptance of the principles of responsible hunter behavior weigh heavily in the pass/fail decision for each student.

Wyoming Hunter Education Law requires any person born on or after January 1, 1966, to successfully complete a hunter education course. The following policies and procedures have been outlined so you will fully understand the requirements for successfully completing the course.

Attendance at all sessions is required. Due to scheduling difficulties, make-up sessions will not be allowed. If you fail to attend any portion of the course your certification will be denied. Students are expected to be in their seats and ready for class at that time.

The following areas of concern will be used in evaluating each student for certification.
 1. Class attendance
 2. Prompt attendance at class sessions
 3. Completion of homework assignments and worksheets
 4. Participation in class activities and discussions
 5. Scores on written quizzes
 6. Score on the final examination
 7. Performance on the firearms field course
 8. Behavior in class and during the field exercise
 9. Attitude

I have read the above policy and understand the requirements for successful completion of the Wyoming Hunter Education Course.

Minimum Age Policies:

There are no minimum age policies

Maximum Age Policies:

There are no maximum age policies

Map:

About the Program

Overview:

This course is for individuals that would like to earn their hunter education certificate in a traditional classroom setting that includes instructor-led lessons, hands-on activities and videos.
Students will engage in a series of in-person lessons that cover hunting ethics and responsibility, firearm safety, relevant Wyoming wildlife statutes and regulations, wildlife identification, game care and outdoor safety. Upon successful completion of this course students will earn their hunter education certificate which is mandatory for any individual born on or after January 1, 1966 wanting to hunt with a firearm. This certification option is recommended for youth 12 and under, individuals new to firearms and hands-on learners.